Florence Cooking Class Guide: Formats, Prices and How to Choose
Florence offers a wide range of pasta, pizza and market-plus-class cooking formats, and the differences between them are real: format, price, group size and what you end up eating. This guide compares the main options with current prices and booking realities.
Short answer
A Florence cooking class runs roughly 3 to 4 hours and most group formats cost between $44 and $89 per person (checked September 2026). The main options are pasta only, pizza and gelato, market tour plus class, and steak masterclasses. The best-selling pasta class is rated 4.9 across 15,180 reviews and shows a likely-to-sell-out badge, so book ahead.
Florence recorded more than 4 million arrivals in the first ten months of 2025, and the city's own tourism office names April and May, not August, as the busiest months for overnight stays. Every one of those visitors needs dinner, and the small trattorie that serve the best food have ten to thirty-five seats. A cooking class solves that problem from the other direction: you pay for a seat in a kitchen, you eat what you make, and a full dining room cannot take the evening away from you. That is the honest pitch, and it is why the format has exploded.
This guide compares what is actually on sale in the city right now: the formats, the prices, the group sizes and the booking realities. It is published by Best Restaurants in Florence as part of a series on eating well in a city where the restaurant friction is real and documented elsewhere on this site, from reservations and queueing to what dinner hours actually look like.
What do you actually learn in a Florence cooking class?
The core Florence class teaches fresh pasta from scratch: mixing, kneading, rolling and cutting the dough by hand, then shaping it into the Tuscan repertoire, followed by a sauce and usually tiramisu or cantucci, and you sit down and eat everything you made with wine included. That is the default product, roughly three hours long, and every other format on the market is a variation on it, with group prices starting at $44 per person (checked September 2026).
The default class is not a demonstration. You work the dough yourself, which is the whole point: the skill being taught is feel, how the texture of the pasta changes under your hands as you knead and roll it. Instructors in Florence lean on the Tuscan repertoire rather than a generic Italian one, so the shapes you learn are typically pici, tagliatelle and ravioli, and the sauces follow the season.
The format has one structural advantage over every restaurant plan in the city, and it deserves saying plainly. Trattoria Sostanza takes phone bookings only and asks for a week or more of notice. Osteria Vini e Vecchi Sapori has about ten tables and diners report booking a month ahead by phone. A cooking class, by contrast, is a confirmed seat with a fixed start time, booked online in minutes. If your priority is one guaranteed, good meal in a city where the good rooms are small, this is the most reliable way to get it.

For readers who want the full breakdown of the menu side, the site already has a dedicated piece on what you actually cook in a Florence cooking class, which goes dish by dish through the Tuscan repertoire the classes teach.
Which class format fits your trip best?
Pick a straight pasta class for the classic three-hour experience at the lowest price, a pizza and gelato class if you are travelling with children or want dessert as the centrepiece, a market tour plus class if you want shopping and cooking in one morning, and a steak masterclass if bistecca alla fiorentina is the reason you came. Each format costs a different amount and runs a different length, from one hour to four.
Group size matters more than most people expect, and it varies sharply between listings. The gelato making class is capped at 6 people per class, the steak masterclass and the food and wine tour as small group sessions (checked September 2026). A cap of six is a semi-private lesson, not a standard small-group session. Check the cap before you book, not after.
The format comparison below is the short version of everything this guide covers in detail.
| Format | Best for | Length | What you eat at the end |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pasta class with unlimited wine | First-time visitors, skill learners | ~3 hours | The pasta you shaped, plus wine |
| Pasta and tiramisu class | Same, plus a dessert recipe | ~3 hours | Pasta and your own tiramisu |
| Market tour and cooking class | Food-focused travellers | ~4 hours | A meal cooked from market ingredients |
| Pizza making and gelato class | Families, casual groups | ~3 hours | Your pizza and churned gelato |
| Steak masterclass | Steak enthusiasts | ~4 hours | A shared Florentine steak |
| Gelato small-group class | Dessert specialists | ~1 hour | Gelato made in class |

How much does a Florence cooking class cost?
Group class prices start at $44 per person for the pasta class, $49 for the pasta and tiramisu version, $55 for the market tour plus class and $89 for the pizza and gelato class (checked September 2026). Small-cap formats cost more, from $125 for a six-person gelato class to $164.18 for the eight-person steak masterclass, and private food tours run from $134 to $219 per person.
The price ladder is mostly a function of three things: how long the class runs, how many people are in the room, and whether food other than what you cook is included. The table below lays out the current prices across the main formats, all drawn from the operators' live listings.
| Class format | Length | Price per person | Group cap | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pasta class with unlimited wine | ~3 hours | from $44 | not stated | 4.9 across 15,180 reviews |
| Pasta and tiramisu class | ~3 hours | from $49 (checked September 2026) | not stated | 4.9 across 8,316 reviews |
| Market tour and cooking class | ~4 hours | from $55 | not stated | 4.9 across 425 reviews |
| Pizza making and gelato class | ~3 hours | from $89 (checked September 2026) | not stated | 4.9 across 1,377 reviews |
| Gelato small-group class | ~1 hour | from $125 | 6 people | 4.7 across 34 reviews |
| Steak masterclass | ~4 hours | from $164.18 | 8 travelers | 5 across 66 reviews |
All figures in the table are from the operators' live listings (checked September 2026). The cheapest class in the city is the pasta class at $44, and the cheapest walking format is the Duomo street-food walk at $63, which is a useful comparison point if you are deciding between a class and a tour for the same evening.
Do Florence cooking classes sell out, and how far ahead should you book?
Yes, the popular ones sell out, and the evidence is on the listings themselves: the two best-selling pasta classes both carry a "Likely to sell out" badge, the evening food tour with steak is rated 4.8 across 669 reviews, and the market tour listings are best booked well ahead (checked September 2026). Book the high-volume classes at least a few days ahead, and treat anything with a badge as book-now.
The booking pressure on classes mirrors the booking pressure on the city's restaurants, which this site has documented in detail. Trattoria Za Za's own reservations page currently says online booking is suspended and directs everyone to phone. Cammillo forms two separate queues at its 19:30 opening. Against that backdrop, a class with instant online confirmation is not a luxury, it is the low-friction option.
The urgency signals below are the operators' own listing language, not marketing spin from this site, and they are the most reliable guide to which classes need booking first.
| Experience | Urgency signal on the listing | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Pasta class with unlimited wine | "Likely to sell out" badge | Book days ahead |
| Pasta and tiramisu class | "Likely to sell out" badge | Book days ahead |
| Evening food tour with steak | Free cancellation | Book at least a week ahead |
| Chef-led market tour with tastings | Free cancellation, led by a local chef | Book early for weekend slots |
| Duomo street-food walk | "Likely to sell out" badge | Book ahead |
| Gelato small-group class | Hard cap of 6 people per class | Few seats per departure |

Seasonality matters too, and not in the direction people assume. The city's own figures name April and May as the months with the highest overnight stays in 2025, ahead of the summer. If your trip falls in spring, book the class before you book the flight, or at least the week you book the hotel.
What is the difference between a pasta class and a pizza and gelato class?
A pasta class teaches dough work: you mix, knead, roll and shape fresh pasta by hand and finish with a sauce, and most versions add tiramisu. A pizza and gelato class combines hands-on pizza dough with a gelato-making demonstration, runs about the same three hours, and costs more, from $89 versus from $44, depending on the option and date you book (checked September 2026).

Is a market tour plus cooking class worth the extra money?
The reviewed market, lasagna and tiramisu class runs five hours instead of the pasta option’s three and costs from $55 (checked September 2026) versus from $44 for the pasta-only version, so the premium is small for what it adds: you walk a real Florence market with the chef, buy the ingredients you will cook, and learn the shopping culture alongside the cooking (checked September 2026). For a first visit it is the best value on the market.
The market side of the class is more educational than it sounds. Florence's markets are two operations in one building, and the difference matters: at Mercato Centrale, the first-floor food hall is open every day from 09:00 to 23:00, while the ground-floor historic market of fruit, vegetable and meat traders runs Monday to Friday 07:00 to 15:00, Saturday to 17:00 and is closed Sunday, per the market's own site (Mercato Centrale's official hours page). A class that shops in the morning hits the ground floor when it is at its best.

If the market itself is the draw rather than the cooking, the site's guide to Mercato Centrale and Florence food markets covers the standalone market experience, including the Sant'Ambrogio market that some classes use instead.
Can you take a Florence class focused on steak?
Yes. The steak masterclass, Master the Art of Florentine Steak, runs about four hours, is a small-group class, is rated 5 across 66 reviews and costs from $164.18 per person (checked September 2026). There is also a shorter Florentine Steak Experience, small group, an hour and a half long, rated 4.9 across 42 reviews, which is a hands-on steak cooking format and the priciest seat in the city's lineup.
The steak class is the specialist option, and it exists because bistecca alla fiorentina is genuinely hard to cook at home. The steak is a T-bone from the loin, cut three to four fingers thick, typically 0.9 to 1.2 kilograms, grilled over wood or charcoal and served rare at around 50 degrees Celsius inside. It is priced by weight in restaurants at roughly EUR 40 to 60 per kilo, and it is a single large cut meant to be shared. A class that teaches you to handle it is teaching a technique you cannot pick up from a recipe card.

The site's full guide to bistecca alla fiorentina in Florence covers where to eat the steak in the city, the cut, the breed rules and the per-kilo price bands, for readers deciding between cooking it and ordering it.
What should you know before you show up to a class?
Arrive hungry and on time, because the meal you eat is the food you made and the class starts cooking within the first half hour. Most classes include wine, so plan not to drive afterwards, and check the meeting point in advance, since several operators run kitchens a short walk from the centre rather than inside it. Classes run in all weather, and cancellation is free on the main listings if plans change.
A few practicalities that recur across the listings. The classes that include unlimited wine mean it: the pasta class at $44 and the pasta and tiramisu class at $49 both pour throughout the session (checked September 2026), so treat the class as your evening's entertainment, not a pre-dinner activity. The four-hour formats that start in late morning end mid-afternoon, which leaves the evening free for the restaurant bookings covered elsewhere on this site.


For readers weighing the whole question of whether the format is worth the money at all, the site's piece on whether Florence cooking classes are worth it works through the value case, including the comparison against a restaurant dinner of equivalent quality.
A Florence cooking class costs from $44 per person (checked September 2026) for the standard pasta format up to $164.18 for the steak masterclass, runs one to five hours or longer depending on format, and the popular ones sell out, with the best-selling pasta class rated 4.9 across 15,180 reviews and carrying a likely-to-sell-out badge (checked September 2026). The answers below cover the questions visitors ask most often before booking.
Common questions about Florence cooking classes
How much does a Florence cooking class cost?
Group classes start from $44 per person for the pasta class, $49 for the pasta and tiramisu version, $55 for the market tour plus class and $89 for the pizza and gelato class (checked September 2026). Small-cap and private formats cost more, from $125 for a six-person gelato class up to $164.18 for the eight-person steak masterclass.
How long is a Florence cooking class?
Most run about three hours. The reviewed market and lasagna class runs five hours, the steak masterclass about four, the gelato class about one hour, and the short steak experience about an hour and a half (checked September 2026). A three-hour class that starts in late afternoon ends at the dinner hour, and you eat what you cooked.
Do Florence cooking classes sell out?
Yes. The two best-selling pasta classes carry "Likely to sell out" badges on their listings, the evening steak food tour shows steady bookings, and the most popular cooking classes can sell out days ahead during high season. Book the popular classes several days ahead, earlier in April and May, which the city's own data names as its busiest months.
What do you cook in a Florence cooking class?
The default class teaches fresh pasta: mixing, kneading, rolling and hand-shaping dough, typically into pici, tagliatelle or ravioli, plus a sauce and often tiramisu. Pizza and gelato classes split the session between pizza dough and gelato churning. Steak classes teach bistecca alla fiorentina over charcoal. The site's dedicated piece on what you actually cook goes dish by dish.
Is wine included in Florence cooking classes?
In the main pasta formats, yes, and the listings say unlimited: the $44 pasta class and the $49 pasta and tiramisu class both pour wine throughout the session (checked September 2026). Plan the class as your evening rather than a pre-dinner stop, and do not schedule driving afterwards.
Which Florence cooking class is best for families?
The pizza making and gelato class, from $89 per person and rated 4.9 across 1,377 reviews (checked September 2026). The two-station format keeps children engaged, the pace is faster than a pure pasta technique class, and dessert is built into the lesson rather than added at the end.
Choose Your Florence Food Experience
Initial editorial recommendation
Pasta Or Lasagna Cooking Class
Make fresh pasta, or choose the longer market, lasagna and tiramisu option; then eat what you prepared. Check your travel date before arranging your other meals.
Pasta option: 3 hours. Market, lasagna and tiramisu: 5 hours. English instruction, meal and equipment included. Market closed Sundays; not suitable for coeliac guests.
Compare The Formats And Adjust Your Choice
Pick the menu and setting you want, then check the specific option. Some classes demonstrate dessert rather than having every guest make it.
Pizza Class With Gelato And Wine: Make your own pizza and watch an artisan gelato demonstration, then enjoy pizza and unlimited gelato. 3 hours, English, maximum twenty. Via Panicale 43R, arrive 15 minutes early. Wine for adults, soft drinks for children. Children need an adult; not suitable for coeliac guests.
Florentine Steak Masterclass: Learn Florentine steak technique with a chef, then share the steak with wine over lunch or dinner. 4 hours, English guide. One kilogram of steak per two people, equipment and wine included. Market visit only on morning departures, except Sundays and bank holidays.
Tuscan Farmhouse Cooking Day: Cook pasta and tiramisu at a countryside farmhouse, with a meal, wine and transport from Florence. About 5 hours; confirm the selected market option and total duration. English. Meet by Santa Maria Novella taxi stand; return near Santa Croce. Ages 8+. Alternative diets and walking impairments cannot be accommodated.
No verified recommendation meets these choices. Adjust the time or experience, or reset. For dietary, age or access requirements, obtain the operator's confirmation before booking.
Choose a date to see Viator's scheduled departures. Availability and final price are confirmed on Viator.